Writer’s Spotlight Wednesday (WSW): Melissa Abramovitz

It’s that time again! WRITER’S SPOTLIGHT WEDNESDAY! This month’s WSW highlights:

Melissa Abramovitz

Melissa Abramovitz

“I love to write.”

 

Melissa Abramovitz has been a freelance writer for over 25 years and specializes in writing nonfiction magazine articles and books for all age groups. She is the author of hundreds of magazine articles, more than 30 educational books for children and teenagers, numerous poems and short stories, and several children’s picture books. Her book for writers, A Treasure Trove of Opportunity: How to Write and Sell Articles for Children’s Magazines, has been widely acclaimed since its publication in 2012. She is a graduate of The Institute of Children’s Literature and a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) and The Working Writer’s Club.

I am excited to feature Melissa for this month’s WSW. Here’s what she had to share with us:

Q:           Why do you write?

A:            I write for several reasons. One is because I love to write. Two – most of my work is educational nonfiction, and I find it very rewarding to know that I’m making a tiny positive difference in the world by contributing to young peoples’ education and piquing their interest in the world around them. Three – I can’t think of a more perfect job for me!

 

Q:           Where do you write and why?

A:            I write in my home office. I have everything I need here, from my computer to all the files and notebooks I use in my writing. Of course, I often bring library books for reference home when needed, and sometimes I’ll bring the files I’m working on with me when I go out of town. But mostly, it’s me and my office. Fortunately, I have a very comfortable office chair.

Q:           What are your current/upcoming projects?

A:            Right now I’m working on an educational book about biotechnology for teenagers. I’m also putting together a couple of magazine article queries that will hopefully result in assignments. And I’m doing some marketing of my book for writers, “A Treasure Trove of Opportunity: How to Write and Sell Articles for Children’s Magazines” (E and E Publishing 2012) and my children’s picture book “ABCs of Health and Safety” (Guardian Angel Publishing 2012). When I have a little extra time, I’ve also been querying agents in hopes of getting an agent to market a novel I finally finished. I really need to devote more time to this, but my assignments come first and my search for an agent keeps getting pushed to the back burner.

Treasure

Q:           What is your favorite word or phrase, and why?

A:            My favorite phrase comes from the book of Ecclesiastes: “To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under heaven.” This bit of wisdom has helped me get through countless challenges in my professional and personal lives, including the painful, ego-busting rejections that all writers receive.

Q:           What tips do you have for aspiring writers?

A:            I believe it’s really important for aspiring writers to think and act in a professional manner. Actually, this applies to aspiring writers who want to write professionally. Some aspiring writers just want to write for fun, and that’s okay too! But if you want to write professionally, be professional. Educate yourself about the technicalities such as impeccable grammar and proper manuscript formatting. Do the required market research, proofreading, and following a publication’s writer guidelines. Treat editors and others with whom you interact respectfully and professionally. Would you hire a home remodeling contractor who knew nothing about designing a kitchen or who did sloppy work or didn’t show up when promised? I wouldn’t. I would only hire a professional who behaved like a professional. If you want people to hire you as a writer, act like a professional writer.

Thank you Melissa for letting me feature you this month!

Visit Melissa’s website at: www.melissaabramovitz.com

GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY!

Melissa has graciously offered to give away a free copy of her picture book, ABC’s of Health and Safety. “In this picture book, delightful rhymes take kids on an A-Z journey through everyday health and safety habits. From active aerobics to heart-healthy-habits to zoo zone zeal, this ABC book introduces health and safety basics in a fun way.”-Melissa Abramovitz

To enter for a chance to win, leave a comment below. Your name will be entered into the drawing. You can comment from now until Friday, November 15, 2013 at 5PM CST. We will announce the lucky winner on Monday.

Thanks for stopping by!

Stay tuned for next month’s WSW: Wednesday, December 11, 2013.

10 thoughts on “Writer’s Spotlight Wednesday (WSW): Melissa Abramovitz

  1. Thank you, Melissa, for sharing some about your writing journey and writing process. It was interesting to read your answers to the questions. I agree with your advice to writers. Congratulations on all your successes!

  2. Melilssa,
    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you’ve been a big inspiration to me and I’m thankful (thanksgiving time 🙂 ) for all the teleclasses you have done for the club. congrats on your new book coming out on biotechnology for teens. Should be interesting, I’m sure.
    Great to see you here on this blog.

  3. Great interview, Latrisha.
    Melissa, thanks for the reminder to be professional. Working at home can become a hindrance unless we do realize we are “at work” and need to conduct ourselves as a business. Thankful you are writing meaningful books for our children. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

