Committed

Someone I know once defined commitment as “doing what you say you’re going to do long after the initial feelings under which you first committed have subsided” (or something like that). Another person I know defined commitment as being inside of a box with the person (or thing) to which you have committed, and there’s no way out of the box.

 

No matter how you define it, commitment is difficult. We commit to things sometimes without really thinking about what that commitment means. We think something might be fun, or might help grow us, and then once we become deeply involved, we start to experience things we don’t like. Things don’t go the way we expected, and then we want to back out of our commitments.

 

One of the things I committed to doing was posting to this blog regularly. I set an internal goal to post once a week, at the very least. Additionally, I started the WSW series with the intent to feature a writer on my blog once a month. At first, these commitments seemed easy and exciting. And then I hit a hump called “life”, also known as “excuses”.When something happened to knock me off of course, I let it. I didn’t fight to stick to my commitment. I reasoned, “Who’s even reading this stuff anyway? Oh, I’ll do it tomorrow. What’s one day?” Of course, as we all know, that one day turns into another, then another, then another, until you look up and all of a sudden it’s been months.

 

I identify myself as a writer, and I started this blog to hold myself accountable to actually write something on a regular basis and to practice and increase my writing skills (also with the hope of offering something helpful to the world). I haven’t been sticking to my commitment and it’s not okay. So this is me shaking a finger at myself publicly. Instead of making an internal commitment, I am now making a public one.

 

I will post every Wednesday, at the very least.

 

With that being said, today is Wednesday, so here I am, posting an entry. Check back next Wednesday for my weekly Wednesday post!

(and help hold me accountable, for goodness sake!) 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

