Gratitude

admin day4

 

I hit snooze about five times this morning. I didn’t want to get out of bed. I wasn’t particularly sleepy, but I just couldn’t find my energy. I contemplated calling out from work, then decided I’d better use my allotted days wisely. Still, having made the decision that I was in fact going to go to work, I still didn’t move. When I finally gained enough muster to get out of bed, it was like I was moving in slow motion. I just didn’t feel “right”. I couldn’t understand it. I had felt great before going to bed last night. I was actually in a singing mood last night. So what was the deal this morning?

 

I slumped into work and upon entering the break room to get some coffee, to my surprise, a table full of goodies reminded me that today was Administrative Professionals Day. Returning to my desk, I found another surprise—a vase of a dozen pink roses with a balloon attached. Boy, did my mood change.

admin day       admin day2

 

 

I felt bad that I had been sulking, especially for no reason in particular. These acts of kindness from my coworkers reminded me that I needed to be grateful. Despite whatever funky mood I was in, there are lots of things to be grateful for: I woke up this morning. I have full use of all of my limbs and a darn good brain. I have a roof over my head, hot running water, a closet (or two) full of clothes, a car full of gas to take me to a good-paying job w/ benefits, where my coworkers show their appreciation for what I do. And the list goes on and on and on.

 

The funny thing is, I had sat down last night to draft a blog post, but I eventually decided against it, putting it off for today. Yesterday, I wasn’t even going to write about this particular topic, which lets me know that it was purposeful that I put off writing the post until today (even though I didn’t know it at the time).

 

I encourage you to think on those things that you are grateful for. No matter what you may be going through, try to find the silver lining. Look for the good, and stay positive.

 

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing,  in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

admin day3
“Stop and smell the roses…”
Leave a Reply

