Book Challenge

reading

For as long as I can remember, I have loved words and reading. As a child, I remember riding in the car, looking at various billboards and signs and trying to make as many words as possible out of the words on each sign, before the car passed. When I was bored in church as a pre-teen, I would write a “big word” at the top of a piece of paper, then underneath it, I would list all of the “small words” that I could develop from the “big word”. As high school students and up until college graduation, my best friend and I used to spend hours in bookstores; to the point that they would literally have to turn the lights out on us in order to get us to leave.

 

With such a love of words and books, it should come as no surprise that I own a lot of books. The problem lately though, is I can’t seem to find the time to read as much as I used to. I used to be in two book clubs, and surprisingly I was able to keep up with the assigned reading in each group. But as I look at my book shelves, I see unfinished books. I have a nice collection of books. Although it’s not as expansive as some, I’ve got some pretty good titles on my bookshelves. The problem, it’s simply that–a collection. I haven’t even read all of them. Some I’ve started and stopped. Some I bought (or was gifted) and never even started. I’ve got my eye on a few books that I want to purchase, but I’d feel bad purchasing new books when I haven’t even read what’s already on my shelves. Will I purchase the new books and have them become the newest members of the unread family?

 

With all that being said, here’s a challenge for myself (and you if you would like to participate)…

I recently came across this website, and the owner hosts a 52 week book challenge, where you read one book a week for a year. I think this would be a great start for me to make a huge dent in my collection and also start some new reading. What I also like about this challenge (besides getting back to my love of reading) is the accountability–knowing that I’m not doing this alone, and having some type of support and encouragement from others participating in the challenge. Excited!

 

What are some of your favorite books? What books are on your list to read? Would you participate in a challenge like this? Please share your thoughts in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

