Blog Hop

I have been tagged in a blog hop. Yay!
I was tagged by the lovely Phyllis Turner.
Phyllis Turner
Journaling since her pre-teen years, Phyllis has always had a passion for writing and traveling. She is a freelance writer with the heart of a gypsy, a wife, mother of one, Vero Beach Florida beach bum, lover of food, animals, sunsets and all things outdoors. Check out her blog at www.phyllisiturner.com
As a part of the blog hop, I am to answer the following questions and then tag another blogger. So here goes!
What am I working on?
I’ve written so much in different genres, so right now I’m still trying to determine my niche—out of all the writing I’ve done, what area I would like to focus on. I think I might like to focus on writing screenplays. I’ve written 5 short films in the past month, and I have loglines for 7 more, so I’ll be working on turning those loglines into short films. Once they’re complete, I will begin pre-production preparation to shoot them. So I guess in short, I’m working on building my portfolio.
How does my work differ from others in its genre? 
This is a tough question. I guess since I’m also an actress, sometimes I write with the intent to make it understandable for an actor who may read it. This can sometimes be helpful or a hindrance because I may end up second-guessing myself. I’m still in the process of determining what’s “my” thing–my signature style that differentiates me from the rest–so this is still a work in progress.
Why do I write what I do?
Writing is therapeutic for me. It gives me a way to release emotions and thoughts that are pent up inside of me, and it also allows me to stay in tune with my creative side. I also share my writing in the hopes that I’m helping someone get through something that they may be going through. I know that my experiences are not for myself alone, and so I share what I’ve learned (or what I’m in the process of learning).
How does my writing process work?
I carry a journal with me at all times because I constantly have ideas. I jot them down in my journal as soon as they come to my mind (because if I wait, I’m sure to forget the idea later). When I sit down to actually flesh out the ideas, I make sure I have everything I need to write (water, clean desk, pen & paper, computer/laptop, quiet environment). Also, prior to each writing session I make a list of things I want to accomplish in each particular session, usually no more than 3 line items. And then I write. I have this bad habit of writing and editing at the same time, instead of just getting it all out and then going back to edit later. So I’m working on being more effective in that aspect of my writing. Baby steps… 😉
And now, to pass on the love…
I tag: GG Renee, of All the Many Layers.
GG
GG is an independent author, a life coach, a feeler and an overthinker.  She writes for the crazy beautiful complex free creative inspired love drunk woman who relishes her quiet time and believes in miracles.
Visit her blog and become inspired and encouraged at: www.allthemanylayers.com
Leave a Reply

