October Goals

Life is Simple

The more I accomplish, the more it seems is still left to accomplish. In a nutshell, I didn’t accomplish either of my September goals, however, I did manage to complete various items that were on my to-do list. I’m trying to balance three jobs, a social/family life, and some sort of regular maintenance of my home (laundry, dishes, etc.), amongst other things.

Noting that I hadn’t accomplished my designated September goals, initially I felt like such a failure. I’ve been reading this one book for three months and still haven’t finished. It’s not a difficult book to read; it’s actually a very engaging book to read, but again, I’m struggling to balance my life and sometimes other things seem more important than finishing this book.

It’s clear that I have a lot going on. It’s to the point that I think I’ve been making myself sick with worry, and all I want to do lately is just sleep. In the midst of trying to achieve my goals, I’ve been distracted (social media, Fall television, unnecessarily spending money, etc.). So for this month, instead of making goals to accomplish, I’m unplugging and detaching and taking the time to really focus. I’m taking the pressure off of myself to achieve a goal in a specified amount of time, especially if the deadline is unnecessary (why does it matter how long it takes me to finish a book anyway?).

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

