Much Prayer

My mom always says, “Much prayer.” That phrase usually comes after witnessing or hearing about some awful occurrence. I hadn’t noticed that I too had adopted the phrase until recently. With news of police brutality, riots, suicide, bullying, deadly fad challenges, yet another family member falling ill, and yet another wayward teen, I would shake my head in pity and mumble, “Much prayer.”

I realized that me saying that was my way of washing my hands of the situation. But we need more than prayer. Sure, prayer works, but we need action. We need faith AND works. (Faith w/o works is dead, remember?) I can practice my faith all day by praying, but if I’m doing nothing to make a change or a difference, what good is my faith, really?
Leave a Reply

