Discipline

discipline

Aw Shucks! Today is my last day on the (modified) Green Smoothie Cleanse. I have spent the last 10 days drinking 2 green smoothies a day (one for breakfast, one for lunch) and a salad for dinner. Snacking in between meals has consisted of fruits and veggies (celery, apples, carrots, cucumbers) and for my protein fix, hard boiled eggs and natural unsweetened peanut butter (on my celery). I have been drinking nothing but water all day, with the exception of a cup of detox tea in the mornings.

For 10 days, I have not had sweets, bread, pasta, rice, meat (I take that back—the last 2 days I added lean chicken to my dinner salads), dairy, fries, pizza…basically all the things I usually eat on a regular basis. Needless to say, this was DIFFICULT! Especially for me, the person who has something sweet to eat EVERYDAY! The person who thinks pizza should be added as a level on the food pyramid.

Although I can’t wait to sink my teeth into some pizza, this cleanse has made me become aware of the health choices that I make on a daily basis. It has made me aware of my daily temptations and cravings. It has made me focus on distinguishing between wants vs. needs. It has defined discipline for me. It has made me proud of myself. It has made me believe in myself.

I couldn’t have done it without the support of my honeybun (lol) and my sister, as well as prayer and positive self-talk.

Moving forward, I’m still gonna eat my pizza, but maybe not as much as I normally do. I know there are better choices out there, I just always made excuses as to why I wasn’t choosing those better choices. Instead of believing that I HAVE to have something sweet, I know that that’s a choice, and I don’t HAVE to have it; I can choose something else, and still feel just as fulfilled.

Cheers to a healthier life!

green smoothie cleanse

Leave a Reply

